Turtles #2

I spotted them on sandy beach
an army all in army green
not too far from the water’s reach
some still in sand, still yet unseen.
They paddled forth with helmets dark
called as if by some silent god
but there I saw not Neptune’s bark
just froth and brine, a liquid lord.
Down in they plunged ferociously.
No doubt no fear, just bare intent.
I fell and wept so terribly
my heart cracked through, I was repent.

And so just like those beasts I saw
I donned my helm and returned to war.

Leave a Reply

