Onsen

I sink and breathe winter
a noseful of glacier air
It freezes a path through to my lungs

It settles
then boils in the heat of my blood
the heat of the onsen
A broiling claw grips my chest

I exhale
White steam rises from white snow
beneath the white crescent moon
the eye of an unnamed god

I drift
As if sitting on an ark
The ship’s wheel spinning like a storm
spinning inside my head

I can see your outline against the rocks
You are naked
and though separated by a wall
we are closer than we have ever been,

here,
in this heat, in this steam,
lost,
where boundaries lose all meaning

Leave a Reply

